Afghanistan

I am still podcasting the _Amanpour_ daily show on CNN. My cable company won’t carry CNN/I, so the podcasting is the only way I can get _Amanpour_ daily. For some reason the podcasting dowlloads from Itunes has been painfullys slow, so I am behind on my viewing.

Christiane interviewed General Stanley McChrystal  for the program & the topic was the Afghan war. Since the President’s address on the direction of this war, Afghanistan has been in the news a lot  lately.

Is the war in Afghanistan ” nation-building”? No one seems to give a good definition of what ” nation-building” is…to me it seems to be a political buzzword.

I think that we need to empower the Afghan people to help themselves defeat the Taliban. The general said that there are two parts to our mission in Afghanistan. The interview was amazing & Christiane asked the general some tough questions.

A} To give the government of this country to  govern itself.

B) To keep the Taliban from gaining momentum in Afghanistan. They want control of the population of  Afghanistan & one of the goals of the war is to deny the Talibam  more control of the hearts & mind of the Afghan people. McChrystal seems to think that the Taliban insurgents are weary of fighting. He says that he believes that the counter-insurgency seems to be working, but gave  no timetable for the end of this war.

The general says that the Afghan people want to be self-sufficiant, they want the US & the rest of the international community to help them help themselves.

I don’t trust the Karzai government. McChrystal is hopeful that the Karzai government will be willing partners in building a better Afghanistan, but I have my doubts. I hope & pray that the general is correct{ and goodness knows he is way more knowledgeable on this topic than am I} but from what I have read & seen of Karzai leaves me with a bad feeling.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

