Maya Lin: What is Missing?

I am behind on my podcasting of my _Amanpour_ series. Today I watched the interview with artist Maya Lin. She is the woman who created the Vietnam War memorial in Washington DC.

Her latest work ” What is Missing” is on the effects of global climate change. It will be unveidl next week & I am * really* excited. Until I saw this podcast, I didn’t even know who  did design the Vietnam War Memorial.  The show  had some clips of the video art & it is undescribably beautiful yet perplexing. I had the same reaction when I saw the Vietnam War Memorial in person during a trip to the nations capital. All those names….the list is seemingly endless.

Anyhow, this was a very timely interview since the Global Climate  Conference in Denmark  will occur soon.

Art is supposed to be provocative. And Ms Lin’s art is among the most provocative I’ve ever seen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

