Spiritual sisters

I am blessed with many spiritual soul-sisters. Many of them are Catholic or Anglo/Catholic, but some of them are Protestant.

I first came accross the idea of spirital friendship years ago at a conference in Montreat North Carolina & even bought a book about the topic.

Spiritual sisterhood is different from spiritual direction. The latter is much more formal. Spiritual sisterhood occurs when two women just have a connection that is formed & maintained  by their shared spirituality & love of God

Actually, love of God is imperative to the formation & maintainance of a spiritual sisterhood.  I have learned that ANY relationship worth maintaining  MUST have God  involved & this includes friendships. Any  friendship I have that does not have God at its center is pretty much an acquaintance, no matter for how long I’ve known the person or how often she & I might see each other face-to-face.  The beauty of technology is that people who  have such spiritual connections can much more easily maintain such connections.  Plus , the Internet, if used wisely, can be a wonderful source to meet new spiritual sisters.  For instance I am Fabecbook friends with a great young woman  whom I have never met in person but with whom I communicate almost daily via Facebook & e-mail.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kayce Bolognese  On 01/06/2010 at 10:13 pm

    A thoughtful insight and ideas I will use on my blog. You’ve obviously spent some time on this. Well done!

  • bldherenow  On 09/02/2010 at 1:58 am

    Hello, I would like to invite you to join; The Poetic Voice Community. It is a writer’s site where you can enter contests – add poetry and get feedback. The latest entries are listed on the blog posts. Click on link, and check us out! Then join, and post.

    Website: http://poeticvoice.ning.com/

  • burning calories  On 12/01/2010 at 9:46 pm

    neat article I feel honered to visit your blog

Leave a Reply

