Mother Mary

” When I find myself in times of trouble, Mother Mary comes to me…speaking words of wisdom…”

Most people are familiar with the song _Let It Be_ by the Beatles. But today, the Feast Day of Mary, Mother of Our Lord, I am talking about THE Mary. I am sure there is a reason why the name ” Mary” is the most common feminine name in the English Language{ & variants of the name I am sure are just as popular in other languages}

Another misconception about we Catholics, both Anglican{ such as myself} & Roman, is that we ” worship” Mary. We do not! All Christians  believe that Christ was born of a Jewish girl named Mary, so since Mary is Theotokos , literally God-Bearer, she is our spiritual Mother too.

 

As a Protestant Christian I always wondered why the two high holy days that are common  throughout Christianity , Christmas & Easter,  said little about the woman who gave birth to God-With-Us & was with him until He died on the Cross. I have great devotion to Mary, the Blessed Mother, & as an Anglo-Catholic Episcopalian, her role in my liturgical & prayer life finally has a place  for expression.  What a joy it is to finally unabashedly  pray my Rosary, Display Marian icons in my home & to openly  talk of  our Blessed Mother with  my parishioners & other Catholics.

The God of All Unity & Creation so loved we humans that God sent the only Son, Immanuel, God-with-Us, to be born of a woman. Each of us has an earthly mother, & the fact that God came to us in the person of Jesus Christ  by way of a Jewish girl so many years ago is proof of the Love our Creator, Sustainer & Redeemer has for us.

Feast of Mary, Mother of Our Lord, 2010.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Leave a Reply

