Haiti

As much as I did not want to watch the coverage of the quake in Haiti last evening,I did. I’m trained as a journalist & therefore  know that it is important to stay in touch with what is happening in our nation & in our world. But last night’s news coverage of the Haitian tragedy was * so* hard to watch. It reminded me much of the immediate aftermath of Hurricane  Katrina.

I am PROUD of my Episcopal Church & her Presiding Bishop for quickly issuing a call to action via donations to our Church’s relief agency, Episcopal Relief & Development.

Bishop Katharine said:

“Even under “normal” circumstances, Haiti struggles to care for her 9 million people. The nation is the poorest in the western hemisphere, and this latest disaster will set back many recent efforts at development. I urge your prayers for those who have died, been injured, and are searching for loved ones — and I urge your concrete and immediate prayers in the form of contributions to Episcopal Relief and Development, who are already working with the Diocese of Haiti to send aid where it is most needed.”

{The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori
Presiding Bishop
The Episcopal Church}

My Church is & always has been about MISSION MISSION MISSION. 

I’m already remembering Haiti in my daily prayer time & I’ll  gladly help with any fundraising efforts  that will go directly to the folks who need it the most.

On the other hand, although I know full well that Pat Robertson is a bigot , it shocked & saddened me when he pretty much  stated that the people of Haiti ” deserved” this horrible natural disaster since they ” made a pact with the devil”. Of course evil exists but to say that the Haitian people  made a pact with ” the devil”{ and Mr Robertson, please define the term devil, as anyone with any knowledge of the faith KNOWS that the devil isn’t a  being  with horns & a pitchfork!!!} Thankfully I  NEVER watched his  terribly slanted  programming. But what scares  me is that so many well-meaning Christian folks * do* take Mr Robertson’s statements as  truth.

First of all, my prayers go out to the people of Haiti & all those who are able & willing to  aid them. I wish I were physically & financially able to fly down to Haiti & get my skinny self  working to help  right where it is needed the most.

Dear LORD, please watch over Your Children, both those affected by this quake in Haiti & those of Your servants  called to travel to Haiti to aid in whatever way that are able. Comfort Your people  & let those who are affected the most see the face of Your Son, Jesus Christ, in the faces of the  aid workers.  In the Name of the Father, Son & Holy Spirit, Amen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

