Water into Wine

Today’s Gospel lesson had to do with the first miracle that Christ  performed. At the wedding at Cana His Mother informed Him that there was no more wine for the guests at the party.  He instructed some servants to fill some ordinary clay jars with water…a lot of water, since there were apparently big jars.  Then Our Lord  turned all that water into wine for sure at the wedding feast.

Jesus has the power to change ordinary ” stuff” of our world into what is most needed here on Earth.  

Today most of we regular churchgoers will have heard or preached homilies on the situation in Haiti this morning, but my thoughts about this Scripture lesson are slightly more personal to my life as a Christian. To me it speaks of vocation: what Our Lord might be asking me to do. Right now the discernment of my future is more than a bit scary , but I know I am not alone. God is with me, and God sent the Son to  help me be a better Christian servant-leader. I do not yet know what form this servant-leadership will take: I’m too young & inexperienced to make any permanent  discernment just yet. But recent events in my life have proven to me that Our Lord is with us & God will, in God’s own Time, let us know what it is we are supposed to do to help our sisters & brothers further the KIngdom of God here on earth.

For instance , I know for a fact that I am not called to be an overseas missionary. I lack the physical capabilities to do any sort of  hard physical labor & I would just be  a bother to those who have the physical Gifts it takes to do some on-the-ground relief work in places through the world such as Haiti. But of course all of us can remember the people in Haiti who were killed or lost all they owned in this terrible quake. Prayer is very powerful, so powerful that our Roman Catholic  sisters & brothers support some monastic communities whose main ” job” { if you will” is to pray without ceasing. I admire those who are called to the cloistered & totally contemplative life: since I know that I am not QUITE that much of a contemplative. But prayer without ceasing is a very  valid ministry & one which our secular society often overlooks.  If you want to see an example of  a faithful  monastic community of prayer, check out the Web site of the Holy Spirit Adoration Sisters in St Louis.

 So, How will God use me & you to turn water into wine? What is it that all of us are expected to do to fulfil our baptismal covenant? What is Christ telling me to do? How can I discover when & where this ordinary clay jar filled with water will be turned into wine that will  metaphorically sustain others?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

