Healing….of the soul.

 So much damage from my past experiences with ” church people”  remains & to cleanse my soul of  the negativity surrounding  the ten- year ” wilderness” . The advice given to me was to  pray for God to make God’s self known to me at that place & among those people. I prayed fervently both the Saturday  night before &  quietly before the early Mass at my parish.

 I asked God to meet me: at that particular church.  Trust me, it was not an easy thing to do: walk in that church building seeking to meet the same God Who I meet in the faces of my community.{ Episcopal community here in my Diocese} But , as my spiritual director pointed out, it isn’t easy at all to meet God in a place with  many bad memories. But I did follow through with my plans to visit that particular church & felt a sense of  indescribable peace.

My main reason for seeking spiritual direction was to begin that journey to a healing place. But, healing of the soul is not my only  purpose for spiritual direction: as a  new Episcopalian there is so much I still need to learn about the Church I love.  I’m still relatively young &  the future looks rather scary at times.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

