Lent Approacheth

Happy Shrove Tuesday, everyone!

Tomorrow we’ll observe Lent 2010’s official beginning with an Ash Wednesday service. If you are in my area, come on out to my parish & recieve your ashes.

Anyhow, I am fasting from the following:

CHOCOLATE { I’m a choc-o-holic!}This morning I ate an entire giant  bar of dark , rich chocolate for breakfast. Yum! of course I’ll probably be sick top the stomach later thank to my undisciplined chocolate-eating! Dark chocolate is a special weakness of mine & Mom bought me an anti-Valentines’ Day gift of a huge bar of 70 percent dark  chocolate.  It was total bliss!  Mom knows how I feel about Valentines’ Day &  she gets me chocolate anyway.

Alcoholic drinks. I really am not much of a drinker, but I * do* like my  alcohol  during social situations. It calms my social phobia. Last year I stayed sober during my brother’s 30th birthday party due to my Lenten fast{ it wasn’t on a Sunday so I was not free of my Lenten fasting} Ugh.  Family parties on Dad’s side  of my geneology especially, are known for the free flow of the booze , so staying sober at one such party takes a * huge* leap of faith as well as discipline. And, anyone who knows me knows how much I  need discipline. :O)

Cussing. This is gonna be the hardest one from which to abstain. I have a bad habit of stringing together several  cuss words in very creative combinations{ especially when I am mad….wow, look out!} I’ve been cussing often lately at my computer, since my keyboard seems to want to stick together . Grr.  Unfortunately, I can no longer blame football season for  creative use of cuss words.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • datafeedr  On 02/19/2010 at 1:15 pm

    I wish I could find the time to write consistantly at my blog, on a day to day basis, like you do. Nicely done! I look forward to your additional article.

  • Myspace Proxy  On 02/25/2010 at 8:12 am

    @chels I know what you mean, its hard to find good help these days. People now days just don’t have the work ethic they used to have. I mean consider whoever wrote this post, they must have been working hard to write that good and it took a good bit of their time I am sure. I work with people who couldn’t write like this if they tried, and getting them to try is hard enough as it is.

  • Panic Disorder  On 03/14/2010 at 10:39 pm

    This can be wonderful material. You need to submit it to Digg.

Leave a Reply

