Autism Movie review

I almost never watch movies more than once.  But I will make an exception  for the HBO movie about the life of Ms Temple Grandin. On Saturday I plan to view this film again with some friends.

My mom & I watched the film together when it premiered & it was thought-provoking yet tear-jerking at the same time. Many parts of Temple’s coming-of-age I can totally relate to: I didn’t & still do not understand  people & prefer the company of dogs { and books!}

Temple’s Mom has a great quote in the movie. She says” Different is not less than. ”

Amen & amen again!

I am a person with autism & my mind works differently from  those of most people. This is the way God made me & even if I had a chance I would not wish to be any other way. 

As was Temple, I  am & was blessed with a wonderful support system while growing up & even now. My family is exceptional, especially my parents, brother , sister-in-law & the extended family on Dad’s side.  I am also blessed with the most amazing set of ” second parents” ever who  can take the credit for my being able to converse with ” strangers” at all{ I hate talking with people whom I don’t know, but I * can* thanks to the relentless efforts of Bill & Marsha}

Here in Florida, my parish community is my primary means of support outside my immediate family.  But on second thought, I can claim & credit the whole Episcopalian  faith community here in the United states: coming ” home” to a Christian community where God wanted me all along has been & will continue to be a huge part in my growing as a person.

If you can, watch the movie about Temple Grandin & be inspired.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gregory Despain  On 02/26/2010 at 6:25 pm

    Please, can you PM me and tell me few more thinks about this, I am really fan of your blog.

  • Shane S.  On 03/04/2010 at 11:32 pm

    I want to thank you for this good read!! I absolutely loved every little bit of it. I’ve you bookmarked your webblog to look at the new stuff you posting.

  • David Justin Lynch  On 04/12/2010 at 2:35 am

    I will pray for you. While I am not autistic, my mind does in fact work differently than most people’s and as a result I have endured a great deal of rejection. My most fervent prayer of all is for people to accept me as God made me and not try to change me.

Leave a Reply

