R.I.P. Corey Haim . More celeb gossip

 Ok, my blog is getting rather celeb-obsessed. Normally I don’t waste blog space on  celeb gossip, but these past two days have  given us celeb news  that is actually blog-worthy.

First of all: there is the whole mess regarding the Steelers’ quarterback & his alleged  sexual assault. Now, the jury  hasn’t even been assembled not has ” big Ben” yet been arrested but folks are already  tweeting this matter. Yesterday I posted my opinion on this situation{ and mind you, I am a * huge* Steelers fan} on Facebook  & received an almost unprecedented  number of comments.

Today, the buzz revolves around the sudden  death of former child star Corey Haim. He was only 38 & I am almost 34. Wow. Now, I never thought the late Mr Haim was good-looking{ I had a huge crush on Bruce Springsteen as a tween…and yes I know darn well he is old enough to be my father & I didn’t care} but when a young person dies suddenly it is always sad.  Rest in peace, Corey Haim.

The fact that Corey Haim’s death is  front-webpage news & a BIG trending topic on Twitter & Facebook says much about how  celeb-obsessed our society has become lately.  Even someone who normally does not follow celeb gossip is bombarded by this sort of psuedo-news every time I turn on my computer.  Yesterday I posted the status  regarding Big Ben’s  legal troubles just to see what sort of response it would garner from my Facebook  contacts.

Why is society so obsessed with the misfortune of celebrities & others who are rich & famous?  I’ve noticed that the more dire our world’s economic situation become, the more ” news” of celeb misdeeds  gets shoved in our collective faces.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Mervin Woeppel  On 03/12/2010 at 12:47 am

    Thanks for sharing, I found this story while looking for song downloads, useful comments and good points made.

Leave a Reply

