Horray for Archbishop Tutu & Daughter

Today I got a rare treat on my _ Amanpour_ daily podcast. Sunday’s show featured a bevy of great guests but the two  who struck me the most were  {retired}Anglican Archbishop off South Africa Desmond Tutu & his daughter{ who is also an Anglican priest!} They apparently have a new book coming to stores entitled ” Made For Goodness”  The basic premise of the book is that ++ Tutu & his daughter attest that humanity is inherently good.

Thoughts?

While I desperately * want* to believe that humanity is as good as God created us to be , everywhere I look lately I see evidence to the contrary.  The people in my life are good people, but at the same time  if humanity is inherently as good as we were created, then why must the following exist?

repeated instances of genocide

world poverty & hunger .{ not to mention hunger right here in the United States!}

abuse of women, children & the elderly.

abuse of the creatures which we were  given as companion animals: dogs & cats.

racism , classism , sexism & heterosexism.

++ Tutu is a very wise & holy man & I look forward to eventually reading his book. If you want to read it with me, let me know.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

