Quotable quotes from Sarah Beth

I love collecting quotations & it is a * darn* good thing that my Lenten discipline did not include  abstaining from  collecting clever things said by other people! My soul would be in BIG trouble if this were the case . Thankfully I’ve already been absolved from my  slipping  & enjoying some forbidden chocolate during Lent.

Here are the two newest members of the ” Favorite Quotations” family on my FB page.

-“Ignorance breeds monsters to fill up the vacancies of the soul that are unoccupied by the verities of knowledge.” – Horace Mann

I found this one from the Facebook status update of my priest. Yup.

-“The future is called ‘perhaps,’ which is the only possible thing to call the future. And the important thing is not to allow that to scare you.”-Tennessee Williams

This is perhaps my favorite pearl of wisdom from the late & great Mr T. Williams.  As a matter of fact, I think I * will* post this very quote as my next status update. :O)

Palm/Passion Sunday tomorrow. Hosanna!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Tom J. Maggio  On 04/11/2010 at 7:25 pm

    As I fellow Episcopalian, TW is my absolute favorite playwright and categorically the best playwright of American Theatre, followed by Edward Albee, Arthur Miller and William Inge. After that I don’t know. Just happened on your blog. I’m looking to start one myself and don’t know how to even get started.

    Here is another Williams quote that I hope you will like.

    “I have found it easier to identify with the characters who verge upon hysteria, who were frightened of life, who were desperate to reach out to another person. But these seemingly fragile people are the strong people really.”

Leave a Reply

