I’m no Eisnstein…..but

Hi. My name is Sarah Beth & I am a quote-a-holic.

I came across this quote on a Facebook page.

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
–Einstein

We are in the Easter season & goodness knows I am in the midst of  transformation & new life. It is getting warmer outdoors.  We are in the Great 50 Days of Easter in our liturgical year{ 50 days of no communal Confession during the Mass & ALLELUIAS every Sunday!}

Last Sunday we celebrated the Miracle of Christ’s resurrection.

 My life , as well as the lives with whom I am closely linked, are in the middle of transitions & transformations. This is exciting & good but transitions & new birth can often be unsettling. But the miracle of life, & life together as baptized Christians requires change.  Like a stagnant body of water, a stagnant Christian will soon  find him or herself spiritually  ” smelly”.  While we need to know the pain & sorrow of the Good Friday & Holy Saturday morning experience  in order to fully appreciate the miracle of Easter  it can be too easy to be stuck in a mindset of gloom .  Unlike the first-century disciples, we Christians know of the Eater miracle & the  hope that Christ’s resurrection brings each of us.

But if there is one thing that I’ve learned  during these weeks leading up to Easter 2010 is that God provides. The God Who promised to deliver Israel  is the same God who does & will continue to see we Believers through this life &  into the  next.

We never know just what God will do with us & through us. Opportunities for ministry  abound  everywhere & sometimes it takes moving out of our comfort zones to discover  how next God wants us to live out our Baptism.

During the Great Easter Vigil  on Holy Saturday evening  we catholic Christians  renewed our Baptismal vows. I’ve been reflecting much on what this means for me, as a Christian in general & as a confirmed Episcopalian in particular.   This Easter I find myself alive with the  hope of that miracle & the possibility it brings for me, my parish, my Diocese  & the whole of Christianity.  am alive with possibility & open to whatever the Holy Spirit  leads.  If I am led by the Spirit to venture again into the Good Friday of uncertainty I shall try my best not to complain .   The world will throw you & me ” Good Friday”  moments…moments that can literally last for weeks & even years.  Yet at the same time we Christians are assured of the miracle of Easter.  As St Julian of Norwich said” “All will be well and all will be well and all manner of thing will be well…”

Alleluia! Amen.

Sarah Beth

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

