50 Days with KJS : Day 1

 {1 Corinthians 12:12;26}

I’ve had a lousy couple of days, so I started my  5o-day reading of _ A Wing & A Prayer today.  Bishop Katharine has a w ay of offering comfort through  her written meditations & I think she is one of God’s greatest Gifts to the Church Universal. 

 Day One is ” One Body, Many Members”

This is especially poignant to me, as I’ve had some rather difficult few days. Anyone who knows me at all knows that I have a highly functioning form of autism. Although my intelligence is above average & I am fairly self-aware{ but not as self-aware as normal people I struggle  with social cues &  suffer  from sensor overstimulation issues.  Although my biological, nonbiological & parish family are aware of my  challenges. I know I  can be * very* difficult to deal with sometimes.  My Irish-Russian American family has the Hawaiian notion of  OHANA to a science. They never let me down & are always there for me.  We’re family & family never leaves members alone.

But I am blessed with  parents & a brother{ and sister-in-law} who should be candidates for sainthood. Seriously, I’ve gotten as far in my life  mainly because I was forced out of my comfort zone.  When my autism causes some frustrating behavior, those I trust & love call me out on the inappropriate actions.

 So, what does all this  share with ++Katharine’s  message on  the many members of the one Body of Christ.  Plenty. The Church SHOULD be open not only to  folks like myself whose differences are mostly frustrating for other people but that same love  needs to be offered to people who are even more different from ” the norm” than me.  If we all are members of the Body, with Christ as its Head, then all parts are equally valuable.   Christ calls on all Christians to practice  OHANA.

++ Katharine asks us to consider folks with whom we would rather not find ourselves linked. Frankly, I  don’t want to be linked with R.D. but through our Baptisms & even though the tradition of the  Anglo-Catholic tradition he & I are linked.  I LOVE  being liked to leaders such as ++ Katharine: She & I agree on much. But  folks such as R.D & Christians who follow his way of thinking…um not so much.   

In our life in community as Christians, each of us is interconnected to the other.  Personally, I would much rather not be  connected with the  former bishop of Pittsburgh, ROBERT Duncan, as I hate schisms & totally disagree with that man’s reason for causing that schism in the diocese in the part of the country. But R. D. *is* my brother-in-Christ.  R.D. & I woulldn’t have many nice things to say to one another if we met but  Christ calls  Christians to love everyone the way Christ loves each of us{ see, I do pay attention to the homily on Sunday!}  I find it hard to love R.D. & I am pretty sure he would find it hard to love me…as a matter of fact since I am such a big fam of ++ Katharine I know he’d find it  almost impossible to love me! But R.D & I are two very different parts of Christ’s Body.

++ Katharine asks us to consider folks with whom we would rather not find ourselves linked. Frankly, I  don’t want to be linked with R.D. but through our Baptisms & even though the tradition of the  Anglo-Catholic tradition he & I are linked.  I LOVE  being liked to leaders such as ++ Katharine: She & I agree on much. But  folks such as R.D & Christians who follow his way of thinking…um not so much.

On days such as today I need to keep reminding myself that  am just as valuable to God as are my brothers & sisters in the faith who  are not stuck  with the burden of  being medically unable to drive.  Having a pity party never helps, so after I let some tears flow & read my lesson from ++ Katharine I am coping. Today I Also remind myself that all Christians are  part of the Body.

Amen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

