Off the radar….Til 29 June

I’ll be on vacation & therefore ” off the radar from tomorrow until 29 June. I’ll have limited Internet access, but for one whole week I’ll have no cell phone & ” very* limited Internet access at the Lake. I’m actually looking forward to a relatively technology-free vacation: I can relax & enjoy Austin Lake without worrying about oil spills,  the bad economy , ect as I tend to do in my  normal life in Florida.

Wait a minute…my life is not normal…I am not normal! Anyhow, y’all know what I mean. It does a body &  soul some good to get away from the  daily grind. I don’t travel well by airplane , so I don’t travel often., but when I do travel I find it  rejuvenating.

Austin Lake is my own personal Walden Pond & each year I go back here to  renew & refresh my soul.  Most of my best memories of  my teen years are from Austin Lake.

My priest, in one of his Wednesday homilies, talked about St Columba & ” thin places.  What is a ” thin place”?  According to St Columba,  one’s ” thin place”  is a place where one feels  closest to God.   One of my ” thin places ” is & always has ben the peaceful valley that is Austin Lake. 

{Facebook friends, don’t despair: I’ll post pictures & updates to my Facebook  while I’m away as I can. }

Where is your ” thin place”?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Catherine  On 06/20/2010 at 4:54 am

    My priest talks often of thin places, and she refers to the Celtic definition often.
    I am going to post your blog on in my New Discoveries section on my blog, Sarah. I want people to hear your voice. Have a lovely and renewing time away.
    Blessings…

  • Sarah Beth  On 06/26/2010 at 3:44 pm

    Thank you, Catherine!

Leave a Reply

