Anglo-Catholic visits a UU

My friend & I went to a concert at the local UU congregation in Pensacola last evening. The music was excellent & I got to spend a uncluttred evening with one of my honorary sisters. Yay.

Anyone who knows me at all knows I am open-minded about faith, but this was unlike anything I’ve ever witnessed…and it was not even a worship service. Of course I picked up two of several pamphlets & brochures they had out in their narthex-ish area.

I am not being judgemental, so please don’t read me that way. I believe that all humans are spiritual beings & am grateful that Unitarian Universalism fills the God-shaped hole that is in every person.

Unitarian Universalists are , from what I’ve seen with the Pensacola congregation, a welcoming & genuinely friendly faith community. That being said: I am an Episcopalian of the Anglo-Catholic variety.

I’m curious about Unitarian Universalism but I must say that I * don’t* agree with the ” anything goes” spirituality that UU espouses. I also feel badly for their lack of ritual. When I picked up a Sunday service leaflet & scanned it for anything remotely familiar there was next to nothing recognizable. I didn’t see any evidence of any sacramental life , either. Yet I can totally see why some folks do dig the UU approach to spirituality: especially since it encompasses so much focus on ” Deeds not Creeds”. As an Anglican Catholic, creeds are important to me. But as a person who has a mind for ” doing what is right”, I know that creeds without deeds make for an empty faith life.

However, I can TOTALLY resonate with the Unitarian Universalists’ passion for social justice. One of the many reasons I am PROUD of our Episcopal Church is that, for the most part, we are a faith community of action.

In the name of the Father, Son & Holy Spirit…
Amen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

