THIS is what a feminist looks like..part 2

I can’t recall if I’d already written a ” Part 1″ Anyhow….

Y’all know that I am a quote junkie. This week I came across this quote & in the spirit of all the Kagan-confirming & the mitigate & thought it apropos. The quote goes something like this:

‎”I myself have never been able to find out precisely what feminism is: I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a door mat or a prostitute.” ~Rebecca West, “Mr Chesterton in Hysterics: A Study in Prejudice,” The Clarion, 14 Nov 1913, reprinted in The Young Rebecca, 1982

I am a woman & perfectly happy as God created me as a woman. I have NEVER wanted to be a man. So the stereotype that all feminists secretly want to be men is absurd: I know many other women who feel the same way as I do. ” Girl Power” need not mean sacrificing one’s femininity.

I am a feminist. But I am so not the stereotypical bra-burning, man-hating, butch-looking image of ” feminism”. I wear my hair long, prefer dresses to shorts, enjoy lipstick, and am totally straight. Heck, I even own & often wear bikinis to the beach & pool! But I think that women can aspire to be anything that we ae called to be.{ By the way, Church of England, that includes women as Bishops!} Attention Vatican: this also means that women ARE called & SHOULD be permitted to enter the diaconate & priesthood!

Yet I don’t let my gender pull me away from trying new experiences. This past American Independence Day I was the * only* woman present at the picnic I attended who was willing to join” the boy boys” in lighting some big fireworks It was freaking AWESOME: what an adrenaline rush! While on vacation this June I had a chance to fly in a private plane AND take the controls{ with the guidance of a very competent pilot in the seat next to me} of said private plane.

I recall as a child, wanting to join in the fun of lighting big fireworks, but my Dad told me that it’s too dangerous”. Well, if fireworks are dangerous which they are} then why must men be the * only* ones who can & should allow themselves to experience danger? Women too, over the age of 18 are able by law & should be encouraged to try new things if we so desire.

The Episcopal Church not only ordains woman priests{ note PRIEST, not ” ministers” but the US Episcopal Church also consecrates dualy-elected & approved women as BISHOPS.

I totally agree that men & women are different. But different does not mean ‘less than’. Feminism, to me, means that we seek equal opportunities for women & girls in all parts of the world. Although here in the United States we’ve still some milestones to uncover in the struggle for gender equality but we women born here are much better-off than our sisters in many parts of the developing world.

Last autumn I read a book by Nicholas Kristoff which changed my perspective of gender equality. The book_ Half The Sky_ details the frightening setbacks & inhumane atrocities suffered by our sisters in other places around the globe. But the book isn’t all tragic, it shows how the women featured overcame some horrendous injustices .

Feminism isn’t * just* for the female gender, either. I wish more men would self-identify as femininists & realize that having a passion for gender equality is very attractive & YES!!} very ” manly”.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

