ee cummings & spiritual direction

‎”It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” ~e.e. cummings

Amen.

I love e.e. cummings’ poetry. This quote , in particular, really * speaks* to my soul. As I’ve said before, I’ve spent much of my life trying to be that ” square peg in a round hole” & finally I am comfortable with who God made me to become.

I’m much more comfortable stating what I believe & why I believe it now . I attribute part of this growth to the fact that many of my friends come from different places in life than me. Diversity is good & the more diversity one experiences , the richer life becomes.

One of my reasons for working with a { GREAT!!!} spiritual director is to slowly discern God’s work in my life right now. I don’t mean this in a sugary way, but through the spiritual direction with “Fr Bob” I’m more certain of the direction I’m being led while also becoming much more comfortable with my past.

Spiritual direction is not for sissies: it takes a lot of courage. Nor is it for only those whom may be discerning a vocation to Holy Orders. My spiritual director was recommended to me during a rather transitory period in my walk with Christ & at first my formerly Protestant self was weary of this idea of having heart-to-heart discussions with a priest who isn’t my parish priest. But God has shown me otherwise & I feel that I am changing & growing for the better under the care of a spiritual director.

Any spiritual director worth his or her weight will challenge one & I’ve been blessed with one of the best in my Diocese. Fr Bob & I, for reasons of distance & the fact that I don’t drive: have our spiritual direction discussions via telephone.

Maybe the cummings quote shold read ‘ it takes courage to grow up & become who God intends for you to become’. ?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

