” Guilt Sunday”

Today’s lectionary readings were real ” downers”. Colossians, especially, really has me bummed. Hosea, too, was depressing but one expects prophets to talk doom & gloom.

Here is what St Paul wrote:

“Put to death, therefore, whatever in you is earthly: fornication, impurity, passion, evil desire, and greed (which is idolatry). On account of these the wrath of God is coming on those who are disobedient. These are the ways you also once followed, when you were living that life. But now you must get rid of all such things– anger, wrath, malice, slander, and abusive language from your mouth.”

Off course, I was ” voluntold” by my priest to pinch hit for reading today. Um, thanks much! :O)

“Voluntold” is a word. It is!

I hereby declare Proper 13 as ” Guilt Sunday”. :O)

If abusive language refers to cussing, oy am I GUILTY. Other than 6 long weeks during lent where I abstain from those certain four-letter words I can cuss like a drunken sailor when I’m mad. Ok, I’ll cop to cussing even when I’m * not* mad on occasion.

Hmm, perhaps God knew that I *needed* to be reminded of my sinfulness? yet I am grateful that since I’m not perfect all I can do is vow to try hard not to sin, and especially not to use such unbecoming language.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

