Of course I am not perfect….

My non-believing friends & family always argue wth me about what it means to be a Christian. Some of them seem to think that believing in God = moral perfection & a sense of ” surperiority”. Now those of us who are people of Judeo-Christian faith know darn well that accepting Christ as our LORD & Savior does not make us ” superior to others. We acknowledge daily that we fall short of wht God wans us o be & we are thankful for our Savior. Um, if we were perfect, there would be no need for a Savior. It saddens me that many non-belivers I know seem to have this negative connotation regarding Christianity. Actually,I’ve a pretty good guess as to where this negative stereotypes of Christians originates, but that is fodder for another blog entry. :O)

I know I am a sinner. And I sure as anything do not use my Christian faith to judge others whose lifestyles mightbe diferent from mine. One of the aspects of Anglicanism which resoates with me very much is our” via media” approach. We can agree to disagree on any variety of hot-button isses yet still be prt of the one true catholic & apostolic Church. Several-non Christians I know don’t seem to understand that many of us are fullyaare of our sins & shortcomings & know better than to use the platform of faith as a weapon. { I ee this a lot in the part of the nation in which I live & it makes me so sad!}

I am not perfect, but I am loved anyway. As the Psalm which I read yesterday at Mass says” O LORD ou hae searched me nd known me…” God knows I am a sinner. I know I am a sinner. But I also know I am forgiven.

Which means I need to forgive…..OH SNAP.
Saty tuned.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

