Where were you?

I know that * everyone* is blogging about where they were 9 years ago today so I might as well add my story to the collective pot o’ tales.

It was my last semester of college & I was running very late for a class. I stopped in the Student Union to get some coffee{ since I was already miserably late to the 8 oclock class} & saw Katie Couric live from New York on the Today Show. As I was heading towards the Communication Arts building{ early for the 9:30 class since I was way late for the early one} I saw the second plane fly into the World Trade Center. I saw it live on a big-screen TV.

One moment in time altered my reality forever.

I remember calling my Dad asking ” why”. How can humanity be so evil & why do these people{ the terrorists} hate my country so much. I knew next to nothing aout Isalm, but I could not fathom that people who worship the same God as I do could be so capable of such an act of violence against an entire nation of people.

But then I had to look in the mirror of the collective Christian history. When I did so, I did not like what was reflected back to me. Throughout he 2000 plus years of Christian history there have been and still are pockets of violence done to others in the name of the Triune God. But the faith I practice is one that has room to respect others whose path to the Divine might be a bit different from my own. I am really bothered when non-Believers paint my own Christian faith with the same dirty brush as that of folks such as the followers of the Westboro Baptist Church and that crazy ” pastor” in Gainesville, FL who hd the whole world’s attntion by wanting to burn Korans.

I am not, by nature, prejudiced but I will confess that I’m still working out the difference in my mind between the everyday peace-loving Moslems & the fringe group which perverts a faith in order to carry out their message of hatred.

The events that took place in NYC , Washingon DC & Pennsylvania were horrid. We remember those lost but also remember that one fringe group of people , not a whole faith system, was responsible for the events of 9-11-01.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • David Justin Lynch  On 09/11/2010 at 6:53 pm

    Every religion has its satisfactory and unsatisfactory members. Rabid Evangelical Christians and Rabid Radical Muslim are cut from the same cloth and deserve each other. Dump both groups into a deserted, fenced area and let them fight it out as entertainment for the rest of us.

Trackbacks

  • By World Wide News Flash on 09/12/2010 at 6:27 am

    Where were you?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

