Spiritual Autobiography

I am so behind on this blog…again.

Anyhow at last week’s EfM it was my turn to give my spiritual autobiography. This year went MUCH easier than last year, but at the same time it was so dang hard to discuss the art about why I left the other church & how painful that was & apparently still is. Spiritual abuse is not discussed all when I’ve looked online for resources o help me through the pain, there was nothing that fit my needs. Most of the Web resources on spiritual abuse focus on abuse by clergy. Sure this can be a problem, but it is a different & much less encountered, problem when a whole institution’s structure is built around one or two powerful individuals & families.

I wish I could get ” over it” After all, I am in a great parish & am thrive in my new ministry. But at the same time the scars spiritual abuse past hide beneath the surface. I had an incident today which , although the person is someone whom I love & respect, all these feelings of inadequacy stemming from years & years of dealing with abusive lay leadership in a congregation.

But I know that the issues are with me & I just somehow need to figure out how to reframe all this ” stuff” I bring with me to my ministry.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

