” My soul doth magnify…”

Sunday is IV Advent, also known as ” Mary Sunday”

The Lessons & Carols rehearsal last night at church reminded me of this simple fact when we practiced chanting the MAGNIFICAT in preparation for the Christmas Eve Lessons & Carols Mass. I love chanting the ” Mag” & the arrangement that we are using in Lessons & Carols is fairly simple.

The last time I chanted The Magnificat was during a special Evening Prayer service my parish did in thanksgiving & penitence for the sealing of the Deepwater Horizons well.

Out of all the Sundays in the Advent season, this one is by far my favorite. One of the total treasures of my Catholic{ Anglo-Catholic, but * still* Catholic. Sorry, Steve! } Christian tradition is the veneration{ and NOT Worship of….so many Protestants tell me that we catholics ” worship: Mary. This is a myth. We also do not ” worship” saints…but that is a whole other discussion}

Here is the text of The Magnificat, as per the Book of Common Prayer:

My soul glorifies the Lord, *
my spirit rejoices in God, my Saviour.
He looks on his servant in her lowliness; *
henceforth all ages will call me blessed.
The Almighty works marvels for me. *
Holy his name!
His mercy is from age to age, *
on those who fear him.
He puts forth his arm in strength *
and scatters the proud-hearted.
He casts the mighty from their thrones *
and raises the lowly.
He fills the starving with good things, *
sends the rich away empty.
He protects Israel, his servant, *
remembering his mercy,
the mercy promised to our fathers, *
to Abraham and his sons for ever.

On Sunday I plan to wear ” sarum blue” in honor of the Mother of Our Lord. :O) Until two Advents ago, I did not know that the Anglican tradition sometimes uses blue as the color of Advent.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

