Convention 2011 Countdown

I finally recieved my 2011 Dio Convention packet in the mail yesterday. I opened the thick envelope this morning & scanned the list of lay delegates to see who else I might know from other parishes & was glad to see several familar names. I TRIED to read the first two resolutions, but the legalese language made my brain hurt. I’ll save that for a date in the near future.

The schedule of the Convention events, however, has me excited. Last year’s Central Gulf Coast Convention was a mere one day but this year, thankfully, the two-and-a half -day format has returned. I’m staying with some friends at their home in Gulf Shores & commute with them to the Convention events at Beckwith & Fairhope, Alabama. Since I am such a ” girly” woman, I am really looking forward to dressing up for the Friday evening gala at Beckwith, but the opening Mass is the most anticipated Convention event for me. Our Bishop will ordain the first class of vocational deacons in the history of our Diocese then & one of my friends is among those to be ordained! I am SO PROUD of all of them, but particularly of Susan because I just know she’ll be a great deacon. :O)

It will be great fun & I told my clergy ” sister”, the rector in Gulf Breeze that she & I * must* hang out at some point during Convention. I saw her, among a few other white-collared friends, at my priest’s Celebration of New-Used Ministry{ thats what he calls it…not me!} on Wednesday evening. My parish can throw quite a reception & the Celebration of New Ministry Mass was incredible. I’ve posted photos on my Facebook.

Anyhow…life is good! Shalom, y’all.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

