CGC 11 Report.

For those of y’all who: A} do not attend my church and/or B} do not yet use social media , { I did Tweet & use FB updates via phone while at Convention & I am not ashamed to admit this publicly.} here is my report from the 2011 Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast. Our Convention was held at St James Episcopal Church in Fairhope, Alabama & Beckwith Camp & Conference Center in nearby Foley, Alabama.

We had 6 resolutions put before us & all were dealt with sans much debate. The most interesting resolution put forth for this Convention was one submitted by a layperson addressing the issues of congregations who do not pay their fair pledge to the Diocese. It was suggested that said congregations who do not meet the 20 percent pledge asked by our Bishop forfeit one voting delegate to Convention.

I know this was put forth to make a point , but I do not like the idea of” no pay, no vote” in a diocese, especially if a small , financially insecure congregation simply cannot make its pledge to the Diocese. At any rate, this resolution did NOT pass, thank goodness. While I agree that it isn’t right that some parishes do not financially support the Diocese at all, but forcing parishes who DO make & meet their financial pledges to the Diocese according to their net inflows is not right. Why punish small congregations who do make contributions to the Diocese based on income? I’m just sayin…. & I’m glad this will not go into effect here.

Our opening Mass was an extra-special occasion since our bishop ordained the first class of Vocational Deacons . Now the clergy count in the Episcopal Diocese of The Central Gulf Coast has increased by eight! Alleluia ! I am really proud of all of the new deacons & will keep them in prayer as they start their ordained ministry. After the mass I attended a party held in the honor of one of my friends who is among the newly ordained.

We elected the new Standing Committee members & also the deputies who will represent our Diocese at the 2012 General Convention. One of my diocesan clergy friends { albeit he is a Low-Church priest but I’ll forgive him that….haha} It is good to know that a younger person will be part of the group of folks who shall represent my diocese at the next General Convention. Truth be told, I hoped that someone would nominate me to be a lay delegate to GC12, as I REALLY wanted to get a chance to experience this part of my Church’s life. But, in God’s timing things happen & I am still a ” new” Episcopalian.

I enjoyed seeing my friends from other parishes & my priest reminded us this morning at Mass that we are ALL ONE holy , catholic & apostolic Church separated by miles.

Over & out!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

