Homework from Bob+

I am blessed with the most amazing spiritual director ever! Today he assigned me ” homework” . Yep, homework.

Bob+ asked me to pray Psalm 121 daily & ask God to help me put my TOTAL trust in God. he said that some of the spiritual /emotional issues I’ve been experiencing is really bringing to the surface my unwillingness or inability to completely surrender my future to God. I admit it: I am a bit obsessive-compulsive & tend to be rigid. {part of my autism} Bob said that when I pray the Psalm he assigned me, to ask God to help me trust in the One Who is eternal.

“My help comes from the LORD
the maker of heaven & earth” Ps 121:2

” The LORD himself watches over you;
the LORD is you shade at your right hand” Ps 121:5

Yep, that is a pretty direct statement. The Psalmist doesn’t waste words & sticks to the thesis of the poem.
God keeps God’s promise to remain steadfast.

This Lent, I am making it a discipline to remember that it is God, not Sarah Beth, who is in control & that God will take care of all my needs.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kirkepiscatoid  On 02/28/2011 at 9:32 pm

    Another way to pray it is to sing the old spiritual of it. Give it a YouTube. It’s a good way to put a little zing in the practice of doing a prayer over and over!

  • Sarah Beth  On 03/01/2011 at 1:56 am

    Thanks, I’ll do as you suggested! :O)

  • our site  On 03/17/2011 at 6:09 am

    japan is in a crisis right now

Leave a Reply

