Lent 4:a tribute to St Anthony of Padua

What has been lost is now found. Amen

Tomorrow will be the fourth Sunday of Lent, 2011. Since I will be busy hanging out with Best Dude tomorrow after Mass, so I am writing this week’s post on Saturday.

You might remember my mentioning that I had lost my red copy of the Book of Common Prayer over one week ago & that I’m getting a new one as an early birthday gift. Well, apparently we did not seek out the lost Prayer Book hard enough, as the teller at my bank gave my red BCP to Dad yesterday & asked him Doesn’t this belong to your daughter?” Even though I had to endure Dad’s funny stare at me when I explained that my red BCP travels EVERYWHERE with me yes–even to the bank!!} I inadvertently removed said BCP from my purse when I went to cash a check.

Darn it…we’d looked at every other place we’d been that Wednesday…everywhere except the bank. It is my fault, as I’d temporarily forgotten that I did, indeed, take my entire purse into the bank that afternoon. I thought I’d lost my personal copy of the Prayer Book permanently.

At any rate, I am glad I got it back & am * still* anticipating receiving the new, white copy of the BCP.

Among other things, St Anthony of Padua is known to be the patron saint of those seeking lost objects. So, St Anthony came through for me long after I’d given up the quest of retrieving the lost BCP.

Here is the traditional prayer to St Anthony : { courtesy http://www.catholic.org/clife/prayers }”Blessed be God in His Angels and in His Saints” O Holy Saint Anthony, gentlest of Saints, your love for God and Charity for His creatures, made you worthy, when on earth, to possess miraculous powers. Encouraged by this thought, I implore you to obtain for me [request]. O gentle and loving Saint Anthony, whose heart was ever full of human sympathy, whisper my petition into the ears of the sweet Infant Jesus, who loved to be folded in your arms; and the gratitude of my heart will ever be yours. Amen. ”

So now I have two Prayer Books. :O)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

