Ding Dong: Osama bin Laden is Dead Now What?

I LOVE OUR MILITARY

I woke to GOOD news for a change.

Osama bin Laden, that terrorist mastermind who was responsible for the attacks on this nation of 11 September 2001 has been shot dead by a US Navy SEAL. According to all the news sources I’ve read so far today{Yes I even peeked at Faux Noise…just to see what their take on this event might be on this very important day in recent history. }

Osama is dead. Now what?

I am trying REALLY hard to keep from rejoicing over the intentional killing of another human being but at the same time I argue within myself that bin Laden * wasn’t* just an ordinary man. This one individual is reponsible for countless deaths…deaths not only of Americans but also of those so-called ” suicide bombers”My faith teaches me to respect life….but at the same time bin Laden’s life work centered around violence & death. He didn’t preach to his followers bout the God of love Whom we Christians know as our Creator, Redeemer & Sustainer.

Several clergy -types whom I’ve read { either on Facebook or on another blog} have differing views on how we Judeo-Christians are “supposed” to think & how we are supposed to act in situations such as the death of this man bin Laden.

He was evil, pure & simple But yet he, like you, me & everyone else was made in the image of God. His life’s work centered around killing those whom his & he followers of a very strict form of Islam deemed to be “Infidels” Yet I imagine that God is both angry & sad today.Angry for obvious reasons: This one human being ‘s actions wrecked such havok on our world. But at the same time I think God is sad that one of His Creations{ and we ALL are God’s creations} chose to live such a wicked life. Osama bin Laden was evil, I am not denying that fact. Yet at the same time, all humans are given free will. All of us can chose what is good, fair, life-affrming & just OR we can chose to follow Evil. Bin Laden clearly chose the side of Evil & for this I am glad he is no longer alive.

Could bin Laden have been redeemed? If no one is beyond God’s grace, than this includes vile individuals such as the late terrorist mastermind, doesn’t it? I’m not sure how I feel about that…if the same God Who grants you & me and others I know & love forgiveness, must this mean that bin Laden is also forgiven?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • smurlene  On 05/02/2011 at 5:14 pm

    I have struggled with this since I heard the news. I am pretty sure Osama could not have been redeemed, but rejoicing in his murder is NOT okay. It is sick and disturbing. I am a pacifist in all ways, and this just brought that to light. I definetely think he should have been brought to justice, but slaughter is no justice at all.

  • Ashley Stopa  On 05/02/2011 at 9:22 pm

    Hello,

    I have been reading your blog for a while now, and I think your post on Osama bin Laden’s death is very smart and heartfelt. I, too, think it is important to forgive him.

    In reaction to this news, I have written an essay on the possibility of a “temporary hell” in the Christian religion. I tie my research to where bin Laden is now. Please let me know if you are interested.

    I am an English major with cerebral palsy, hoping to also major in religion.

    Thank you,
    Ashley Stopa

  • Sarah Beth  On 05/03/2011 at 3:45 pm

    Soooo glad to know some folks DO read what I say :O)

    Ashley….please feel free to leave comments at any time.

Leave a Reply

