Ten years later: Part 1

I am so glad that I am not a priest , preaching the Gospel on this Sunday would be extra-tough. Why? In case you have been hiding under a rock for the past month, Sunday marks the 10th anniversary of the terrorist attacks of 9/11/2001. As was the attack on Pearl Harbor,this date in indelibly imbedded into the collective conscience of we 21st Century Americans.

Defensively speaking, we’ve accomplished much since then. We did capture & kill both Osama bin Laden and Saddam Hussein. Both ” needed a killin'” & I am VERY glad that our military came through & rid our world of these horrible men. But I question the validity of the continued campaign in Afghanistan… will the presence of our military in that region really keep al Qaeda away? While I hope & pray that our defensive tactics will keep another terrorist attack away from our country I doubt that we’ll * ever* be completely free of al Qaeda. Now that bin Laden is dead, is our continued presence in the Middle East justified? I don’t know the answer for sure to that rhetorical question. I know that killing bin Laden was necessary, but yet I cannot imagine a continued war with al Qaeda as a good thing for our great nation. The more we antagonize these extremists over in the Middle East, I fear that we’ll ” digging our hole deeper” when it comes to our national security. It’s true that al Qaeda hates us & wishes harm to befall our nation, but will violence on our part adversely affect the ” big picture” that is our future? Again, I don’t have any answers.

Another topic I’ll address this week is the phenomenon of what Lisa Bloom, in her book _THINK_ called ” blind patriotism.” It seems as though the anniversary of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 bring out some frerce tribalism among many Americans.

Of course I love my country but at the same time , I believe that metaphorically ” wrapping onself in the flag” is not right. I do believe with all my heart & soul that we live in the best nation in the world, but I * do* try to remember that not every government of every nation in the world wants to be Americanized. Maybe if we dropped less missles & engaged in diplomacy with ACTIVE LISTENING between hostile nations & ours we might lose less American lives?

God Bless the USA!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Steve+  On 09/07/2011 at 2:19 pm

    I’m so glad I’m not a priest too… wait, what? I am? And I’m preaching this week? Oh crud!

    Thanks for this post, Sarah. While my concerns are less focused on our foreign policy, I am finding it hard to toe the very fine line this Sunday creates between remembrance, prayer, and worship on one side and anger, fear, and rampant nationalism on the other.

    For me, as a priest in the Church, the key to the whole thing is to remember that in worship our focus is on the Triune God. Sure, that necessarily means that life gets mixed into it, but when the events of everyday become the focus, then the opportunity to worship is lost.

    So, at St. Paul’s, we will remember, we will pray, I will talk about the decade that has passed since 9/11, we will sing songs of praise and songs of protection, but we will try our hardest to “turn our eyes upon Jesus.”

  • Sarah Beth  On 09/08/2011 at 1:56 am

    Thanks for your thoughts, Steve+

Leave a Reply

