Ten years later: Part 3 Sarah’s Story

Remember....and don't repeat.

A former rector of mine always said that ” everyone has a story.” and on this day, the aniversary of the triple attack by Moslem extremists on US soil, storytelling is paramount. Here is * my* story. I’m interested in hearing yours , if you are so inclined to share with me.

Ten years ago I was a 25-year-old college student living in Pensacola FL. I’d arised from bed late & was therefore late to my early class. as I scurried into my classroom I noticed that …

A} The professor wasn’t there…and she isn’t the sort of professor who is habitually late.

B}Everyone in the room was silent, save for the crying.

I’d whispered to a random student,” What happened? Where is the Professor? ”
She replied” Don’t you KNOW? A plane crashed into the World Trade Center.”

No, I didn’t know.On this particular school day I’d barely gotten myself out & to class…I hadn’t time to turn on the TV nor tried to stop at the Computer Center on campus to check the Internet.{ this was before laptop PC’s rally became a staple among college students} I ran to the University Commons Building where hundreds of students gathered around several TV sets as the replay of the second jet plane hitting the World Trade Centre flashed accross the screen.

As the seond tower came tumbling down I decided to call Dad. Naturally the line for the public phone { this was before everyone owned cellular devices}in the corridor was long but I HAD to hear my father’s voice. Wen I finally reached Dad via phone, he asked me if he should come to Pensacola to get me. Of course I said yes.{ and the classes were cancelled University-wide that day anyhow}

It wasn’t until later on in the unexpectedly long weekend{ which I spent with my parents} did I even try to process what happened.

To be honest, I am *still* processing my experiences regarding what happened that moring in September ten years ago today. I’d like to think that I’m in a ” “better place” than I was even five years ago regarding what happened today. But honesly I have doubts in my own abilities to discern how I * should* react. As do most{ if not all} people with Autism, I don’t process emotions well. Facts ar well, much more FACTUAL than are those { in my opinion, frustrating} ” I-feel statements.”

If I could understand ratonally what provoked these attacks on our nation, I would cope with today’s anniversary much better. Although thse attacks * seem* to be unprovoked, the rationalist in me wants to know the reason behind this act of terror.

Yes, I do believe our enemies hate us with reasons they percieve as rational. What to me & everyone I know is seen as an irrational act of terror must have a root of rationality in the minds of those who seek to harm our way of life. It is wrong to fly planes into buildings…but I want to know why they did it in the first place. But I doubt we’ll get an answer in this lifetime.

God Bless America.
We will never forget…but we should seek to forgive.

Amen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

