Epiphany 2012

Today is the Feast of the Epiphany, also known as Twelfth Night. On this day, we liturgical Christians celebrate the arrival of the Three Wise Men from the East. These astrologers were commissioned to seek out the Christ Child & then report to King Herod. But, warned in a dream, they saw th Christ child, brought Him expensive gifts , and returned home” another way.”

My question to myself this day is: How must I find “another way” to come closer to Our LORD? What is God asking ME to bring to His Son, Christ, this year? We are called to offer Him our best, as did the tree astrologers whose visit to the Christ Child we commemorate today. If I am not physically the healthiest I can be, than I am not offering my best to Our Lord & Savior.

Throughout most of my adult life I’ve been very ‘ wishy-washy’ at bet & downright lazy at worse regarding my attitude towards my bodily health. I’ve been skinny all of my life & have used my titanium-infused back to steer away from honest cardiovascular & strength training. Over the Christmas season, I’ve realized that I am NOT getting any younger & that if I do not start seriously tending to my physical body, later in life I will not be healthy enough to serve God & my community with my best. Being my best includes fitness in four areas, Physical, Emotional, Intellectual , and Spiritual. In the past I’ve ben faithfully working on 3 out of the four aforementioned areas. This year, however, I am making a HUGE change in my health & fitness routine.

I’ve had an Epiphany: I need to focus on becoming STRONG, NOT SKINNY”

I’ve come to the conclusion that , in order to present myself as a living offering to Our LORD, I must be as healthy as possible. My committment to my exercise program is not in order to compete against other ‘gym rats’ such as myself. I committed myself to improving my physical countenance so that I may better serve Christ. Our bodies are given to us on loan from God , and it is an act of good stewardship to tend to one’s physical health. I don’t go to the gym every day to show off{ and ayhow, I’m a neophyte in the world of ” gym rats”} I wake up & go excercise every day. It isn’t easy to get out of my warm bed, eat m oatmeal, drink my coffee, get dressed & meet ether Dad or LPC for my gym time.

It isn’t easy, but it is so worth it! I can already feel an increase in my stamina & general well-being in the short time I’ve been on my fitness regiment.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

