DioCon2012, how I missed y’all

For the first time in two years, I was not an attendee of my Diocese’s Annual Convention. Best Dude & I ha planed a trip long before we knew the dates of DioCGC12, so I took this as a sign from God that it is time fo someone else to experience serving a lay delegate at Convention.

By the way, y’all, I am * very* curious to know how this year’s Convention went–a friend whom I’ve met there these past two years told me that the gala was excellent. So , please email me your thoughts on the happenings in Mobile this weekend. Photos from the event won’t be available online until at least Monday, so when they are posted I shall post some from at least the closing Mass.

Last year Best Dude & I were delegates to the Convention that was held at the diocesan camp & conference center. On thursday evening, we attendees had the rare privilege to witness our first ” class” of vocational deacons receive Holy Orders. Words cannot explain how Spirit-filed that Mass was & I shall never forget that experience. As a matter of fact, the Mass when our first class of vocational deacon were ordained is right up there with the Mass I attended in 2009 with ++ Katharine Jefferts-Schori.

I also recall that last year we delegates voted on whom we wished to send to the General Convention that will occur this summer. I was glad to see that a good friend of mine who is a priest will represent us this summer. It as one of my dreams to attend General Convention when Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts- Schori was still our Presiding Bishop, but I do not think that will happen. :O)Sadly for me, Bishop Katharine’s term will be done two years from this summer.

I am totally aware that not everyone thinks highly of Bishop Katharine, but I adore her. Liturgically, ++ Katharine is not ” liberal” & theologically, she’s just trying to lead people to follow Jesus. Isn’t that what we Christ-followers are supposed to be doing?

Best Dude and I were driving the long way from Urban Sprawl, Florida all the way to Redneck Riviera on Friday. I want to thank my friend Cindy for streaming the Convention live online– eventually I will at least view the Bishop’s Address.

Maybe I’ll go next year.

Shalom, y’all.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

