Psalm 41 : Happy are those who consider the poor…

Many Christians observe Lent by denying ourselves of something in order to ” make room for God”.

The Psalm for today reminds me of yet another way that we can observe a holy Lent.

In this season that was traditionally when new Christians prepared themselves for Baptism, today I am reminded that Lent is a good time to rededicate ourselves to serving the truly needy. Here in the western world, sometimes it is easy for we middle-class citizens of the world’s wealthiest nation to remember the poor.

When Best Dude & I drive trough certain neighborhoods here in our lovely beach community in Florida, I am reminded that poverty exists everywhere. Here in Northwest Florida one can literally ride by several gated waterfront housing developments yet five minutes later find oneself driving through neighborhoods of poverty. It is easy & convenient to turn away from poverty here at the beach & I am not sure why this is so. Maybe no one wants to thnk about the needy people wo happen to live here in ” Paradise”? I don’t know the answer to that question, but today I am reminded that God loves the poor & his Son ministered with & and among the poor of first century Judea.

Instead of denying ourselves, maybe Lent should be more about increased GIVING to those wh have less food, iadequate shelter or no healthcare. What are your thoughs on this subject?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • David Justin Lynch, Esquire  On 02/27/2012 at 10:34 pm

    I am a bit old fashioned. For me, Lent is in fact about self-denial and spiritual renewal. I am on a 6-day-a-week, no meat, no wine, no desert, no carbs, to honor my body and get down to a reasonable weight. In addition, I am diligently saying my daily offices which I get on my Blackberry. I’ll admit, I’m not enthusiastic about the modern alternative Lent.

Leave a comment