Update:6 months into the new Fit & Healthy lifestyle & other sundry happenings

This is a fun way that I work out at home. Thanks, “L” for introducing me to this form of exercise.

I am remiss…I have ignored this blog for several weeks.Best Dude I watched my parents’ house & dog-sat their HUGE{ but very lovable Chocolate Labrador retriever while they went to Europe for 18 days. { How lucky are they?!}

Speaking of dogs, Best Dude & I had to return ” Sally” back to foster care. It turns out that she could not get over her fear of men & is a biter. :O( This made both tofus sad, but we know there is a dog just waiting to come meet his or her ” Forever Family”. Taking care of Casey while my parental units were away just reinforced the notion that Best Dude & I are totally dog-lovers.

It has now been 6 months since I started this exciting yet sometimes exhausting fitness & health campaign. I am proud to say that I have never looked nor felt stronger in my 36 years of life{ Yes, 36 years…shush!!} When I began this journey in January I was determined to not let fitness & health become just another failed New Years’ resolution{ Because we know what happens to New Years’ resolutions come mid-February, right?}

Anyhow, in addition to my swimming regiment, I am still lifting weights at the gym twice weekly. And{ drumroll, please} I am FINALLY seeing some visible results when I look in the mirror. Amen! Alleluia!

I am not a fast swimmer, nor do I swim various strokes. Most of the time I stick to swimming the breaststroke but on occasion I will swim the crawl or the butterfly. Since I have some back problems, I have discovered that the breaststroke places the least amount of stress on my spine. Usually I swim 25 minutes but I have ben known to swim continuously for 30 minutes. My goal is to swim a 45 minuet mile with my godfather ” Wild Bill” when I travel North to see them in August.

While at the doctor last week, the nurse asked me to step on the scale. I’ve gained back ALL the weight lost after my dental surgery * and* I put on two more pounds!

People always ask me if I eat a lot, since I take my fitness seriously. OF COURSE I eat–and I eat more than many women in my age bracket-with the way I exercise, good nutrition is paramount.

The secret that my friend { and fitness guru}” L” advises to eat small, protien-based meals each day & to eat ” clean”. By ” Clean”, it is meant to stay as far away from processed foods as possible & to base one’s diet on lean animal protein & fresh fruits & vegetables. I admit that eating as clean as I wish to eat has not happened , but I’ve cut a lot of junk from my diet & am concentrating on the quality of the food that passes my lips. Thisway of eating isn’t easy , but since we’ve started eating cleaner both Best Dude & I noticed a change in our overall health.

My biggest clean-eating obstacle is…ICE CREAM. I love the stuff…and the more exotic the flavor of the ice cream, the more I wish to taste it!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

