Day 5: What is an ” Abomination?”

Last night I read all of Ezekiel Chapter 8. I’d seen several hash-tag references to this Scripture in several GC deputies’ Twitter feeds, so I satisfied my curiosity with Scripture.

One word that caught my attention as a read & re-read this chapter in the OT was “abomination” I lost count of how many times that the author used that word to describe the ancient temple rituals of the Israelites.

Words are powerful and very subjective.

Even back in OT times, what one group { or individual} considered an ” abomination” might be standard practice for another group. For instance, the author in Ezekiel called the temple rituals used by the Israelites at that time & place” abominations” I noticed that the use of incense was cited in this chapter as ” An abomination” in the eyes of God. I TOTALLY disagree with tis statement— as a high Church Anglo-Catholic the use of images & incense is part of my spiritual heritage. But even now, some Protestant Christians see using incense in worship as { at best} a detractor.

Anyhow, my thoughts ” from the pew” during this General Convention are that we need to remember that words carry loaded meanings. What one person’s ” abomination” is might be someone else’s normalcy. I agree that some behaviors & actions that humans are capable of ARE an abomination. { for instance , murder, rape & other sich violent crimes} Someone else’s different preference for ANYTHING that does not cause harm to others} is really none of my business.

One of the pet peeves I carry concerning all Church conventions is that such meetings tend to polarize attendees { and those of us at home in the pews] in such a way that threatens the unity of our Church. While I admit to my tendency to *always* think that my views on pretty much everything are * correct* I make it a practice to tolerate others’ views. tolerance & unity remain my hope and prayer fo this 77th Convention of The Episcopal Church.

Amen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • David Justin Lynch, Esquire  On 07/08/2012 at 12:17 am

    Malachai 1:11 says, “From the rising of the sun until the going down of the same, my name shall be praised, and in EVERY place incense SHALL be offered unto my name, thus says the LORD.”

    Nothing further need be said. I would endorse a literal reading of this verse, and I think if you look at the context in which it was written, and look at the motivations behind the Oxford Movement, you will see why a literal interpretation of this particular passage is appropriate.

    • Sarah Beth  On 07/09/2012 at 9:00 pm

      I wholeheartedly agree, David. But I am merely playing ” devil’s advocate” in this article.

Leave a Reply

