My first competitive 5K walk in 10 years.

Best Dude & I are competing in a local charity 5K race on Saturday , October 13. { our priest is getting married that day also, but the wedding isn’t slated until 6 PM}

I have not done a competitive walk in over 10 years, so I’m a bit nervous. I’d elected to compete in the walkers’ division, since I’ve not run 3 consecutive miles since high school * and* my left knee is still recovering from the hiking accident.

Best Dude & I are both fast walkers & I think there is a good chance that both of us will place in our appropriate age/gender divisions. :O)

To prepare for the 5K, I’m concentrating on training my legs more for these next two weeks. Swimming helps we build speed, but I also need to build endurance by doing squats, leg presses & sit-ups.

Perhaps I’ll add * some* leg-pounding cardio my indoor routine, bu I do no want to re-injure my knee. When I got hurt, my doctor told me to stay ut of the gym & pool for one week–and that one week was mental torture for me. Perhaps next October I’ll consider running this 5K- but for now I’ll err on the side of caution.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

